maple bacon biscuits

So this is another post that starts with that trip to City Bakery with my friend Mimi. As we were enjoying our hot chocolate, vegan chocolate chip cookie, and pretzel croissant (mm…), Mimi informed me that the maple bacon biscuits City Bakery served at breakfast were amazing and something I needed to try. A week or so later, I took her advice, and I was not disappointed.

After slowly savoring a biscuit at City Bakery, I did some internet searching to see if their recipe was floating around in the ether. It wasn’t, but I did find a recipe from a bakery out in California called Huckleberry. I finally gave these a try yesterday, and they were so very delicious – the biscuits themselves were soft and flaky with a crisp top, the maple syrup added just enough sweetness, and then there’s the bacon – bacon, as far as I’m concerned, doesn’t need an elaborate description to make it sound tasty. Bacon speaks for itself. So instead of making biscuits, frying up bacon, and drizzling both with maple syrup (mm, also sounds good), you can enjoy all three parts in one tasty breakfast treat!

Maple Bacon Biscuits

This recipe makes a lot of biscuits (the original recipe says 24; I got 19), which means it is a perfect candidate for some flash freezing! (I.e. freezing some of the biscuits before baking so that you have more delicious, fresh home-baked goods for later). See the note at the end of my previous post on scones for detailed instructions on how to do this. I haven’t changed the original recipe, though I will recommend one minor change – I always get frustrated with recipes that recommend that you slice raw bacon first and then cook it – and pretty much any recipe I’ve ever used that requires small pieces of bacon recommends this. Bacon is a pain to cook this way, as it doesn’t cook evenly, it’s annoying having to flip all the tiny slices over, they stick together and have to be pulled apart, etc. I don’t see why one couldn’t just cook the bacon strips whole, and then crumble them up after they are cooked, when they will be very easy to break into smaller pieces. I will be doing that myself the next time I make these, and recommend that you give this a try as well.

Makes about 2 dozen biscuits

Ingredients:

1 pound bacon
3 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
2 tablespoons sugar
1 tablespoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
3/4 teaspoon salt
1/2 pound (2 sticks) butter, cut into 1/2-inch cubes
3/4 cup plus 2 tablespoons maple syrup, divided
3/4 cup plus 2 tablespoons buttermilk
1 large egg
1 large egg yolk
1 tablespoon heavy cream
Fleur de sel(basic sea salt will do)

Directions:

In a large skillet, fry the bacon over medium heat until cooked and just starting to get crispy. Place the cooked bacon onto a layer of paper towels to soak up some of the grease. When the bacon is cool enough to touch, break it up into 1/2 inch pieces (or something close to that).

Heat the oven to 350F/176C.

In a large bowl, whisk together flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, and salt. Using  a pastry cutter or your finger tips, cut in the diced butter until it is the size of small peas. Stir in the bacon. Add 1/4 cups plus 2 tablespoons of the maple syrup, and all of the buttermilk. Stir until the dough just comes together – don’t overwork the dough.

Turn the dough onto a lightly floured countertop. Press the dough into a round disk, then gently roll or press the dough to 1-inch thickness. Cut the biscuits using a 2-inch round cutter (use a comparably sized cup if you don’t have a biscuit cutter). Gather up the dough scraps, gently press them together with just your fingertips (you’re trying to warm the butter and work the dough as little as possible here), and cut more biscuits; repeat until you run out of dough.

Place the biscuits onto parchment-lined baking sheets. Freeze the biscuits on the baking sheets for 10 minutes. (At this point, if you are planning to flash freeze some of the biscuits, you should leave those in for longer – about 30 minutes to an hour, until they are hard, then put them in a freezer bag, and return to the freezer until ready to use. When you are ready to bake, follow the instructions in the paragraph below, and just add a few minutes onto the regular baking time – no need to defrost before baking.)

While the biscuits are in the freezer, make the egg wash. In a small bowl, whisk the egg, egg yolk, and tablespoon of cream. Once you’ve removed the biscuits from the freezer, brush each biscuit with the egg wash and sprinkle with a pinch of fleur de sel. Bake until biscuits just begin to brown, about 25 minutes (mine were ready at around 22 minutes, so keep an eye on them). Remove the tray from the oven. Drizzle one teaspoon of the remaining maple syrup over each biscuit, then return biscuits to the oven for 3 more minutes. Serve warm with a nice cup of coffee.

Adapted from Gastronomy Blog

11 Comments on “maple bacon biscuits”

  1. Kevin says:

    I will have to try these. I looked around at several of your posts and I am looking forward to following your blog. It is very well done.

  2. vanesther says:

    Ooh these look good – will definitely be giving them a try soon!

  3. Mimi says:

    I am so excited about this! I was just thinking about these biscuits this weekend, and now here is a guide to making them… This may edge out even the peanut butter and chocolate cookies for my next baking adventure.

    • They are so, so good – right now knowing I just have to pop one in the oven each morning is helping me to start working on my resolution to get up earlier :). I think the City Bakery ones are more scone-like, whereas these came out biscuit-y (and with more bacon, certainly not a bad thing).

  4. okay, maybe these for my birthday breakfast too. One of these days when I acquire a house with a functional kitchen and an oven that actually heats to the temperature (and not above) it claims to, I will have to try these.

    • You should get an oven thermometer – they are not very expensive. In fact I can help you look for one when I visit if you want, and then we can make these! The oven in my last apartment also heated way higher than it was supposed to, but once I bought a thermometer and learned that I needed to set it 50 degrees lower (!), I stopped burning things.

  5. randi says:

    Hi,
    These look great. Do you have to keep the biscuits refrigerated after they are baked? Thanks. Randi


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 72 other followers