panko-crusted salmon

I am back with another salmon recipe. My apologies for the lack of protein diversity, but we’ve been trying to eat more fish around here lately, and salmon is so versatile.

I don’t have any nostalgic stories associated with this recipe, and eating it for the first time wasn’t a life-altering experience, so I won’t extemporize on it at length. Panko tossed with lemon zest and parsley gives a nice crunch, and Dijon mustard adds some zing to keep things interesting. This salmon is tasty, simple, and perfect for a night when you are tired and need to get something fresh and healthy on the table in a hurry. Try it, and I bet it will go right into your weeknight rotation (it’s in mine!).

I do want to ramble a bit about search terms people use to find blogs. Search engines often do a good job helping people to find the information they’re looking for – lots of people have stumbled upon my blog by searching for sweet potato casserole, for example. Other times, people enter rather amusing/bizarre terms and somehow end up here. I’m not sure how much I help them. But below are some of my favorite examples.

1. “Can you use the same sauce on green beans that you would use on asparagus”. Probably? It depends on the sauce? But really, the green beans aren’t going to protest that no, you see, this sauce really only goes with asparagus and they’d prefer that you sauce them with something more appropriate. If it sounds good, try it – if it’s not so good, try something else next time.

2. “Has anyone eaten moldy hummus?” “What happens if you eat moldy hummus”. Please, no. Throw that moldy hummus away. I don’t even know if it will harm you, but it just sounds gross. I wonder if the second person typed this into a search bar after having consumed the moldy hummus, and then wanted to confirm that they weren’t going to be hospitalized. And did the first person hope to find someone else out there who had eaten moldy hummus and then proudly shared their tale with the internets? Just in case some other poor soul finds herself here searching for the same answer, I will state my opinion on this matter: just don’t do it.

3. “Crepes sweetened cocoa frugal student”. Was this person searching for a frugal student who had posted a recipe for crepes with cocoa? If so, they found what they were looking for, since I was indeed a frugal student when I posted chocolate crepe recipes. But what an oddly specific thing to look for! On the other hand, maybe this person was a frugal student looking for a chocolate crepe recipe that would fit their budget. And since I set my frugality aside to buy fancy cocoa, I probably wasn’t much help here.

4. “Exquisite dinner”. Hey Google, tell me what is the most exquisite dinner of all! I don’t know if my recipes satisfied this person’s demands, but I guess I’m amused/tickled that some search engine decided that my blog was an ideal provider of exquisite dinners.

That’s all for this installment of Curious Search Terms People Use to Find My Blog. On to the recipe! 

Panko-crusted Salmon

Since this is such a simple recipe, the quantities can be viewed more as guidelines than anything else. I didn’t measure the mustard, just used what looked like enough to me, but I’ve included the original amount. The original recipe also recommended lemon wedges for serving. When I squeezed the lemon over the salmon, the panko got kind of soft, and I prefer some crunch. But if you want more lemon flavor, go right ahead.

Ingredients:

2/3 cup panko
2 tablespoons minced fresh parsley
2 teaspoons lemon zest
1/2 teaspoon kosher salt
1/2 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
3-4 tablespoons olive oil, divided
4 salmon fillets (original recipe says 6-8 oz. fillets – I probably used less than this)
2 tablespoons Dijon mustard

Directions:

Preheat oven to 425 F.

In a small bowl, combine the panko, minced parsley, lemon zest, salt, and pepper. Add 2 tablespoons of the olive oil, and stir with a fork until everything is evenly mixed and coated with the olive oil. Spread the Dijon on the top of each salmon fillet.

Heat a frying pan that can go from stove-top to oven over medium heat. Add 1-2 tablespoons of oil to the pan (depending on how much surface you need to cover). When the oil is shimmering, add the salmon fillets, keeping the side with the mustard facing up. Once all the fillets are in the pan, distribute the panko mixture evenly on top of each fillet. Press the panko into the mustard so it will stick. Cook the salmon for 3-4 minutes without turning to sear the bottoms of the fillets. Then move the pan to the oven for 5-7 minutes to finish cooking the salmon and brown the panko crumbs.

Remove the pan from the oven and cover with aluminum foil. Let rest for 5-10 minutes, then serve. Enjoy!

Recipe adapted from Ina Garten’s How Easy Is That? via Annie’s Eats

4 Comments on “panko-crusted salmon”

  1. sybaritica says:

    LOL … good post :)


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 73 other followers